Please let City Council know you support expanding library services to underserved areas! You can contact them through the information below or attend a City Council meeting in person or online to share your thoughts. Find a list of talking points here.

Use this link to sign our community action letter to Tacoma City Council!

OUR BIGGEST TALKING POINT:

Library branches nearest Tacoma’s Hilltop neighborhood were closed in 2011. Tacoma has since overall disinvested in library services for less affluent and more diverse communities like Hilltop, where 20% of households live in poverty, compared to 14% in Tacoma and 10% in Pierce County. In 2022, a feasibility study on expanding library services identified possible solutions to restoring library services on the Hilltop and Eastside. However, the City Council has not taken any action. We need long-range financial planning with a vision of a state-of-the-art libraries in Tacoma’s two most distressed neighborhoods. With funds available from the bond issue for facilities upgrades, and the Tacoma Library System’s recommendations to put resources towards opening libraries in both the Hilltop and Eastside communities, the time to act is NOW. These decisions will be made at the end of 2023/beginning of 2024, so don’t leave libraries out!

https://cityoftacoma.org/government/city_council

DISTRICT MAP: https://cityoftacoma.org/government/city_council/district_map

Mayor Victoria Woodards
(253) 591-5125

Constituent Services
Phone: (253) 591-5000
Contact the Mayor’s Office

John Hines
Position 1
(253) 591-5470
jhines1@cityoftacoma.org

Sarah Rumbaugh
Position 2
(253) 591-5447
srumbaugh@cityoftacoma.org

Keith Blocker
Position 3
(253) 591-5470
kblocker@cityoftacoma.org

Catherine Ushka
Position 4
(253) 591-5447
cushka@cityoftacoma.org

Joe Bushnell
Position 5
(253) 591-5447
jbushnell2@cityoftacoma.org

Kiara Daniels
Position 6
(253) 591-5470
kdaniels@cityoftacoma.org

Olgy Diaz
Position 7
(253) 591-5100
odiaz@cityoftacoma.org

Kristina Walker
Position 8
(253) 591-5470
kwalker@cityoftacoma.org